But did he pull his pants down this time?

Apparently, Matthew Stafford did not impress Mike Singletary during his interview (H/T: David Hale) with the pyschologist the San Francisco 49ers brought in.

The guy was asking about his parents’ divorcing when he was in high school, Stafford said, and said it sounded like he had “unfinished business” with the split. Stafford said no and added he wondered how much he was being charged for the psychoanalysis.

Apparently Mike Singletary had some verbiage of his own to add regarding Stafford’s attitude.

Singletary told a San Francisco radio station: “If you’re going to look at drafting a guy in the first round, and you’re going to pay him millions of dollars, and asking him about a divorce about his parents, if that’s going to be an issue, uhhh, then you know what, maybe he doesn’t belong here.”

Wow! I thought it was cool last year when Singletary had the whole pants-dropping routine and sent Vernon Davis to the locker room because he wasn’t being a team player, but this crosses the line. Obviously, I’m only touching on this because of my red and black colored glasses, but I think this is applicable to anyone. Singletary crossed the line if he’s going to judge Stafford based on comments regarding the kid’s parents’ divorce. Stafford is being more mature about this than the head coach by making a joke and simply saying no to the pyschologist. Discussing personal issues like these are completely off touch when evaluating a person for a job. I wasn’t subjected to this line of questioning when I interviewed for my job and I’m sure you weren’t either. For something that is universally known as a “don’t touch” subject, why does Singletary feel this is appropriate for a football player? If I were Stafford, my response would have been “What does my parents’ divorce from when I was in high school have to do with me playing football for your team?”

I realize high pick QB’s are expensive decisions that can cripple a franchise (See:Leaf, Ryan) or can bring hope and optimism (See:Ryan, Matt). I realize with all the expensive errors in judgment that teams have made on players such as Pacman Jones and Michael Vick that teams want to be as sure as possible before making a $30M investment on a guy that’s just barely 21 years old. Maybe Singletary is right, maybe Stafford doesn’t belong there. It’s not because he has issues with his parents’ divorce, but because he’s more mature than the head coach.

3 responses to “But did he pull his pants down this time?

  1. Here’s the source of all the hoopla. From Sports Illustrated:

    The 49ers interview, conducted by a team psychologist, struck Stafford as odd. His account: When the psychologist asked about his parents, he explained that they were divorced when he was in high school and that he’d adjusted well; told he sounded as if he might have unfinished business concerning the divorce, Stafford said there certainly was not. “I felt like, I wonder how much I’m being charged per hour for this?” he says. “But I understand. They’re going to pay a lot of money in the first round.”

    • It certainly doesn’t sound as bad when you get the entire quote. I still think it just looks poorly on Singletary to make such a big deal about it. I can understand the line of questioning from a pyschoanalytic evaluation point of view, but to think that a guy isn’t going to fit in with your team because he doesn’t really want to talk about his parents’ divorce doesn’t make much sense to me.

  2. Mike In Valdosta

    Not that Detroit is a great option, but who would want to play QB for Singletary? They are going to throw it about 12 times a game.

Leave a Reply

