He gets it, why don’t they?

I’ve referenced Bill Simmons here before.  While I do get tired of his unabashed belief that the world of sports revolves around everything Boston he usually writes very in-depth pieces that could apply to any team.  With his latest piece over at ESPN.com, he hits the crux of what drives me (and most other baseball fans) up the wall regarding the steroids discussion.

What bothered baseball fans this decade wasn’t the cheating as much as the lack of accountability. Some players lied to our faces. Some twisted the truth. Some hid in shame. Some said nothing but probably wake up every morning thinking, “I wonder if today will be the day I get caught.” I can’t think of one player who admitted wrongdoing and just came clean. You know, something like, “I did it because everyone else was doing it. I did it because there were no rules in place that I couldn’t do it. I did it because I’m a competitive guy, because my professional and financial success, as depressing as this sounds, was at stake to some degree. If you were me, what would you have done?”

This is what I think bothers most fans about the steroids thing.  Personally, I couldn’t care less that a bunch of guys were taking some sort of performance-enhancing drug to make an extra buck or to keep up with the rest of the competition.  I completely understand it.  What I wish they would do is quit insulting my intelligence with claims of “I didn’t know what I was really taking”/”I didn’t realize XYZ supplement was banned.”

Is it likely that some of these guys legitimately took something over-the-counter that happened to be banned?  I’m sure it happened.  The problem is that these guys are PROFESSIONAL ATHLETES.  Their body is their temple.  They damn well know what they put in their body because that is the basis of their career.  Quit treating me like a five year old and just man up to it.  I’m not that naive and neither is the majority of baseball fans.

Update #1 : Bronson Arroyo gets it.  (H/T: Deadspin)

4 responses to “He gets it, why don’t they?

  1. I love baseball, but Bud Selig is a blight on the game. Pure and simple.

  2. Interesting quote from Arroyo, –If you ask any owner whether they would rather make $20 million and come in last place or lose $20 million and win a World Series, there’s only one guy who honestly would take that championship: George Steinbrenner (of the Yankees). Nobody else.

    How true do you think that is?

  3. So, why not give the championship to the biggest revenue earner or largest net profit.

    F the score, put the ticket take up on the scoreboard. Isn’t amateur athletics supposed to be about the performance of the guys on the field.

    If you are not the one profiting and are “just” a fan, I do not get the, we made more money thn you argument

  4. I”m a bit late in reading this post, but hey, I got here eventually. That’s the big thing, right? Anyway, my beef is that every one of the guys we’ve seen on sportscenter when confronted with this crap looks just like some D.C. pol with their lawyer’s hand up their ass moving their lips. Not one of them have had the brassers to come out and deal with the problem honestly. I don’t know about the rest of you guys but for some reason I hold baseball players and the game to a little higher standard than other sports. Call me a romantic old fool but this game is so intertwined with our national image, about honor and doing the right thing, that it should not be treated as a playground for lawyers and accountants. Sadly it is just that and I know it. I guess for so long a lot of heroes have been baseball players and it is getting harder and harder to gloss over the rotten spots in the game. BTW, totally agree on Selig. Shouldn’t he be selling shaved ham or something?

Leave a Reply

