Day of remembrance

Today is the 10 year anniversary of the shooting at Columbine as well as the 14 year anniversary of the bombing of the federal building in Oklahoma City.  On a personal level, Oklahoma City didn’t affect me as much as Columbine because I was not yet at the age of enlightenment.  Columbine was huge at the time because it was when you realized that just because kids lived out in the suburbs didn’t mean they didn’t have problems.  This wasn’t some urban shooting, it happened in the suburbs of Colorado.

I was a freshman in my suburban high school when Columbine happened and it changed the way everything was run at my school.  At every door we had metal detectors installed.  We had a ridiculous dress code that included suspension for having an untucked shirt since you could potentially conceal weapons.  More than anything Columbine just hit home on a personal level since this happened to kids my same age that were going through the same stuff I was.  Both Columbine and Virginia Tech hit me really hard because I was at the same point in my life when both incidents happened.

Columbine was such a seminole event of sadness for my generation that unfortunately was superceded by September 11, 2001.  I hope that we all take a few moments out of today to remember those that were taken from us way too early in their lives on that day in Columbine 10 years ago and that day in Oklahoma City 14 years ago.

Leave a Reply

