Something New

Based on my amazing ability (sarcasm heavily intended) to provide sound advice for games of chance I’ve decided to start a new thing here and will put up picks for five of the weekend’s games. 

Note: All lines come from www.sportsbetting.com and are as of 2:00 on 9/15/09.

Game 1Georgia Tech +5 @ Miami – Thursday, 9/17/09

Miami was completely incapable of stopping the run against Florida State and I think Georgia Tech will win this one straight up.

Game 2:  USC @ Washington +20

Washington looked very respectable against LSU and stayed in that game a lot longer than I expected.  They finally snapped their 15 game losing streak last week against Idaho.  Steve Sarkisian is starting something good in Seattle, but I don’t see them getting their first winning streak since beating Washington State to close 2006 and Syracuse and Boise State to open the 2007 season.  The Trojans went on the road for a big win against Ohio State last week and left with their starting QB having injured his throwing shoulder.  I think USC wins, but I’m taking Washington and the points.

Game 3:  Tennessee +29.5 @ Florida

Orson Swindle perfectly summed up what Urban Meyer is so I won’t expand on that.  However, I do believe that Tennessee has the defense that will keep Florida from scoring a ton of points.  The problem is that they don’t have the offense to keep up at all.  I think Florida pitches close to a shut out, but doesn’t cover.  Take Tennessee and the points.

Game 4Cincinnati +1.5 @ Oregon State

This game is essentially a pick ’em game and I fully expect the defending Big East champs to head west and handle Oregon State.  Take Cincinnati straight up.

Game 5:  West Virginia @ Auburn -6.5

This game is the most interesting matchup of the weekend to me.  West Virginia looked to be on a one-way street to mediocrity after losing Rich Rodriguez in 2007 and replacing him with Bill Stewart, then losing the best player in the history of the program to graduation in Pat White last year.   Then West Virginia went out last week and looked really good against East Carolina and Jarret Brown appears poised lead this team to a run in the Big East.  We all know the struggles that Auburn faced last year and that the penultimate collapse came last year in Morgantown when they surrendered a 17 point lead by giving up 31 unanswered points to this West Virginia team.  Auburn has gone out and looked very impressive on offense in their first two games against respectable opponents and Gus Malzahn is looking like the real deal right now.  I think this will be close at first, but eventually the Malzahn attack with the dual 100 yard rushers will eventually be too much for West Virginia.  I’m taking Auburn at home to cover.

Those are my picks, kids.  I do reserve the right to be very wrong.  For examples, see my pick for the UGA/South Carolina game.

Leave a Reply

