I thought this too funny not to share

Today I was perusing the NFC South blog over at ESPN.com and noticed an Atlanta Falcons mailbag with the NFC South writer.  The following question and answer was at the top:

Jeff in Charleston writes: Hey Pat, my question is about Brian VanGorder (Falcons’ D-Coordinator). Why hasn’t he been demoted to a positional coach to let Coach Smith call the defensive plays? I’m sorry, but I don’t think he has impressed anyone since he has been D-C (last game vs. Pats proves that even further). The Jets and Bills provided an absolutely perfect blue-print in exactly how to defend and disrupt the Patriots offense… BLITZ! What does BVG call, cover-2, cover-3, cover-2, cover-4. How many times has he blitzed this year, 4 times… maybe? I just dont understand, I thought we got younger and faster on Defense so we could call those blitzing plays with confidence, I guess I was wrong.

Pat Yasinskas: Let me start by saying I think VanGorder’s one of the best defensive coordinators in the league. I think he was able to squeeze a lot out of a unit that wasn’t very talented last season. I also think you could see VanGorder end up as a head coach in the NFL at some point. That said, I understand your concern about Atlanta’s use of the blitz. They don’t do it very much. I think part of the reason may be the talent level in the secondary. If the Falcons were more talented back there, they might feel more comfortable taking chances with the blitz. But the fact is, they don’t have a single stud in the secondary and I think that’s why they look so conservative at times.

I’m willing to bet there are some Georgia fans out there that have a suggestion for Coach Smith if he wants to demote Coach VanGorder.  I also found the head coach comment from Yasinkas amusing after the Georgia Southern debacle.

Leave a Reply

