Numb

That’s the only way I can describe my emotions about the “news” today.  After seeing Damon Evans’ face after all those home games with that PSA about drunk driving, I just don’t know how he can go on as the AD at my alma mater.

On one hand, I don’t believe he should be fired or resign because I know far too many people that have received DUI’s that aren’t bad people, just made a bad choice.  The man shouldn’t have to throw away his career for what is now a personal problem where no one was hurt and it had nothing to do with his job.

On the other hand, the UGA Athletic Association has a specific policy regarding how it disciplines student-athletes when alcohol is involved.  How can he possibly hand down a judgment and have any credibility anymore if he’s allowed to stay on?  I don’t know if a suspension works in this situation.

This isn’t something I ever expected to come from one of our high ranking administrators.  This is the type of thing you’d expect to happen to somebody like Les Miles, just because he’s so bat-shit crazy.  I never thought the phrase DUI and the name Damon Evans would ever be in the same sentence.  I’m just numb today.

Leave a Reply

